Cabal sandbox status in your ZSH prompt

Sometime ago I made a simple script for my zsh setup that allows me to see whether am I in a cabalized sandbox environment or not. I posted it to Haskell-cafe a month ago, but totally forgot to post it to this blog.

The result of checking for the sandbox is cached, which is probably unnecessary; it updates only when the user performs a cabal command or changes a directory.

After you place the contents of the script in your .zshrc file (or in a similar location), you should update your $PROMPT to use $(sandbox_prompt). The prompt I am using, by the way, is

HOST_COLOR=%{$fg_bold[yellow]%}
local ret_status="%(?:%{$fg_bold[green]%}:%{$fg_bold[red]%})%?%{$reset_color%}"
PROMPT=$'\n$(ssh_connection)$HOST_COLOR%n@%m%{$reset_color%}$(my_git_prompt)$(sandbox_prompt) : %~\n[${ret_status}] %# '

and it is based on the oh-my-solarized theme.

Leave a Reply

